Updated: Monday, 09 December 2013 00:13 | By Agence France-Presse

Afghanistan bats in first-ever Pakistan T20

Afghanistan captain Mohammad Nabi won the toss and elected to bat against Pakistan in the first-ever Twenty20 international between the two countries in Sharjah on Sunday.

Afghanistan bats in first-ever Pakistan T20

In this file photo, Afghan cricketers celebrate after dismissing an England's batsman during an ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup match, at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo, on September 21, 2012

Afghanistan included paceman Hamid Hasan who gained full fitness before the match.

Pakista are without their ace spinner Saeed Ajmal who opted to rest back home and his place was taken by left-armer Zulfiqar Babar.

Pakistan gave Twenty20 debut to 24-year-old left-handed opener Sharjeel Khan.


Pakistan: Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez (capt), Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Amin, Umar Akmal, Shahid Afridi, Bilwal Bhatti, Sohail Tanvir, Zulfiqar Babar, Junaid Khan.  

Afghanistan: Mohammad Nabi (capt), Mohammad Shehzad, Nowroz Mangal, Asghar Stanikzai, Merwais Ashraf, Hamid Hassan, Samiulah Shinwari, Dawlat Zadran, Shapoor Zadran, Najeebullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib. 

Umpires: Ahsan Raza (PAK) and Shozab Raza (PAK)

TV umpire: Zameer Haider (PAK)

Match referee: David Boon (AUS)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn