Updated: Tuesday, 05 November 2013 00:26 | By Agence France-Presse

Bolt, Bondarenko, Farah battle for IAAF award

World and Olympic champions Usain Bolt of Jamaica and Mohamed Farah of Britain have been named along with Ukrainian high jumper Bohdan Bondarenko as the three men's finalists for the IAAF 2013 World Athlete of the Year Award.

Bolt, Bondarenko, Farah battle for IAAF award

Usain Bolt (left) wins the 100m final at the World Championships in Moscow on August 11, 2013 while a lightning bolt shines in the skyseconds, with American Justin Gatlin claiming silver in 9.85sec and Nesta Carter, also of Jamaica, taking bronze in 9.95sec. AFP PHOTO / OLIVIER MORIN

All three starred at this year's World Athletics Championships in Moscow where the Jamaican won gold in the 100 and 200 metres, Farah clinched a rare 5,000-10,000 metres double and Bondarenko took gold in the high jump.

Bolt will be bidding for a fifth IAAF Athlete of the Year Award after 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012.

The three women's finalists will be named on Tuesday with top Jamaican sprinter Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce as well as Ethiopian long-distance stars Meseret Defar and Tirunesh Dibaba in the running.

The winners will be announced by the IAAF at a ceremony on November 16.

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn