Thursday, 06 December 2012 12:28 | By xinmsn Sports

Singapore squad for NexLions Cup announced

Coach Aide Iskandar selects a good mix of LionsXII, S.League and YOG players

Singapore (© Football Association of Singapore)

The final Singapore Youth Selection squad competing in next weekend’s NexLions Cup has been announced, featuring a good mix of LionsXII, S.League and Youth Olympic Games (YOG) players.

Safirul Sulaiman, Shakir Hamzah and Raihan Rahman are the three names arriving from the recently-concluded Malaysia Cup and Malaysian Super League, while the graduates of the bronze medal-winning YOG team picked were Jeffrey Lightfoot and Ammirul Emmran.

The S.League’s key additions to coach Aide Iskandar’s 25-man list are Delwinder Singh of Tanjong Pagar United and Courts Young Lions’ Shahfiq Ghani.

“The boys are looking forward to play against a quality side in the form of Liverpool (Under-19) for the opening match of the tournament, and I am sure that they will give their all during the two matches,” a confident Aide said of Singapore’s first opponents, who are bringing at least four players who have been fielded by Brendan Rodgers in the first team.

The two other sides participating in the 14-16 Dec tournament are Manchester United U19s and Sporting Lisbon U19s.

The NexLions Cup is modelled after the successful Canon Lion City Cup, an Under-16 competition.

Tickets starting at $12 are now available at Ticketbooth outlets and online. Early bird packages end tomorrow, while concessions are available for students and senior citizens.

Each ticket entitles the holder a chance to win autographed merchandise of the foreign clubs.

Full Squad:

Rudy Khairullah (Gombak United), Abdul Qadir (Woodlands Wellington), Al-Qaasimy Rahman (Courts Young Lions), Emmeric Ong (Courts Young Lions), Delwinder Singh (Tanjong Pagar United), Nurullah Hussein (Gombak United), Shannon Stephen (NFA U18), Ali Hudzaifi (Tampines Rovers), Shakir Hamzah (LionsXII), Jeffrey Lightfoot (NFA U17), Faris Azienuddin (NFA U18), Safirul Sulaiman (LionsXII), M Anumanthan (NFA U18), Ammirul Emmran (NFA U17), Iqbal Hussain (Gombak United), Nazrul Nazari (Courts Young Lions), Shamil Sharif (Courts Young Lions), Aqhari Abdullah (Courts Young Lions) Samuel Benjamin (Gombak United), Raihan Rahman (LionsXII), Ignatius Ang (Hougang United), Amy Recha Pristifana (Geylang United), Syafiq Zainal (Courts Young Lions), Shahfiq Ghani (Courts Young Lions), Sahil Suhaimi (Nil)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn