20 November 2013 15:45 | By Tan Thiam Peng, Aaron Chong, Kevin Scott, Ed Soluk
Contenders for FIFA's Ballon d'Or 2013 award

Bale, Neymar and Robben all nominated, but can anyone take Messi's crown?

Lionel Messi (© Reuters/ALBERT GEA)
  • Lionel Messi (© Reuters/ALBERT GEA)
  • Eden Hazard - Chelsea/Belgium (© REX/Michael Zemanek/BPI)
  • Thiago Silva - Paris Saint Germain/Brazil (© Reuters/BENOIT TESSIER)
  • Yaya Toure - Manchester City/Ivory Coast (© REX/Michael Zemanek/BPI)
  • Edinson Cavani - Paris Saint Germain/Uruguay (© REX/Kieran McManus/BPI)
  • Bastian Schweinsteiger - Bayern Munich/Germany (© ASSOCIATED PRESS)
  • Luis Suarez - Liverpool/Uruguay (© REX/Paul Greenwood/BPI)
  • Thomas Muller - Bayern Munich/Germany (© ASSOCIATED PRESS)
Reuters/ALBERT GEAShow Thumbnails
Previous1 of 24Next
Share this Gallery

FIFA has unveiled its 23-man shortlist for the prestigious World Player of the Year award.

The Bundesliga is the most represented league in the shorlist, with no less than seven players included, six of whom play for treble winners Bayern Munich. Six nominees come from La Liga - including transfer record-breaker Gareth Bale - while Serie A has just one player featured, the lowest of the 'big five' European leagues.

Five Premier League players make the cut, but there are no English players included for the first time since 2010.

The FIFA Ballon d'Or (and its predecessor) has been won for the last four years by Barcelona forward Lionel Messi. The 2013 winner will be announced on 13 Jan, 2014, in Zurich, Switzerland.

Click through to see the nominees' profile and our assessment


Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn

facebook recommendations