Updated: Wednesday, 13 August 2014 20:15 | By Agence France-Presse

De Allende to win first Springboks cap

Outside centre Damian de Allende will debut for South Africa on Saturday against Argentina in a Rugby Championship first-round match in Pretoria.

De Allende to win first Springboks cap

Western Stormers outside centre Damian de Allende scores a try during a Super 15 match at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane on March 29, 2014 - by Patrick Hamilton

The uncapped 22-year-old Western Stormer is among eight changes to the starting team that whipped Scotland 55-6 in Port Elizaberth two months ago.

De Allende, inside centre and skipper Jean de Villiers and left-wing Bryan Habana replace JP Pietersen, Jan Serfontein and Lwazi Mvovo.

Star scrum-half Fourie du Preez suffered a serious ankle injury against the Scots, rulling him out for the rest of this year, and Ruan Pienaar steps in.

The other four changes are in the pack with flanks Willem Alberts and Francois Louw coming in for Schalk Burger and Marcell Coetzee.

Veteran lock Bakkies Botha takes the place of injured Victor Matfield and loose-head prop Tendai 'The Beast' Mtawarira is recalled with Coenie Oosthuizen dropping out.

The seven Springboks retained include 20-year-old fly-half Handre Pollard, with long-time incumbent Morne Steyn among eight replacements.

Team (15-1)

Willie le Roux; Cornal Hendricks, Damian de Allende, Jean de Villiers (capt), Bryan Habana; Handre Pollard, Ruan Pienaar; Duane Vermeulen, Willem Alberts, Francois Louw; Lood de Jager, Bakkies Botha; Jannie du Plessis, Bismarck du Plessis, Tendai Mtawarira

Replacements: Adriaan Strauss, Trevor Nyakane, Frans Malherbe, Eben Etzebeth, Marcell Coetzee, Francois Hougaard, Morne Steyn, Jan Serfontein

Coach: Heyneke Meyer

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn