Only three members of the 23-man squad currently play in Argentina and two of those -- midfielders Fernando Gago and Maxi Rodriguez -- only returned to their homeland after prolonged spells in Europe.

The third player, third-choice goalkeeper Agustin Orion, is the only member of Alejandro Sabella's squad who has never played outside Argentina.

In contrast, only seven members of Germany's squad play for foreign clubs.

Four play in the Premier League -- Per Mertesacker, Mesut Ozil and Lukas Podolski with Arsenal, and Andre Schuerrle with Chelsea.

Right-back Shkodran Mustafi and veteran striker Miroslav Klose play in Italy, while midfielder Sami Khedira joined Spanish giants Real Madrid after the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.

When Argentina won their first World Cup as hosts in 1978, Valencia striker Mario Kempes was the only player registered with a non-Argentine club.

For their last World Cup success in 1986 they had seven players based overseas, including captain and star player Diego Maradona, then of Napoli.

Composition of Argentina squad by league of origin

Italy: 8

Spain: 4

Argentina: 3

England: 3

Portugal: 2

Mexico: 1

Russia: 1

France: 1