Last year's runners-up were two goals to the good inside the first five minutes through Henrikh Mkhitaryan and Marco Reus.

Zenit pulled one back through Oleg Shatov after 58 minutes only for Borussia to produce another killer blow when Polish striker Robert Lewandowski struck in the 61st minute.

Zenit came back again when they were awarded a penalty for a foul by Lukasz Piszczek on Viktor Fayzulin and it was dispatched by Hulk.

But once more Borussia struck back quickly through Lewandowski in the 71st minute for a two-goal cushion for the second leg in Germany.