Updated: Wednesday, 26 February 2014 16:00 | By Agence France-Presse

India elect to field against Bangladesh in Asia Cup

India's stand-in captain Virat Kohli won the toss and sent Bangladesh in to bat in the second match of the Asia Cup one-day tournament in Fatullah on Wednesday.

India elect to field against Bangladesh in Asia Cup

India's Virat Kohli pictured during day five of the second International Test against New Zealand in Wellington on February 18, 2014 - by Marty Melville

Kohli was leading India in the absence of skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who was ruled out of the five-nation tournament due to a side strain suffered during the recent tour of New Zealand.

Bangladesh were without injured opener Tamim Iqbal and premier all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who is serving a three-match ban on disciplinay grounds.

Shakib will also miss the home team's second match against Afghanistan on Saturday.

Sri Lanka defeated defending champions Pakistan by 12 runs in the tournament opener on Tuesday.

Bangladesh: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt), Anamul Haque, Shamsur Rahman, Naeem Islam, Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Ziaur Rahman, Abdur Razzak, Sohag Gazi, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Rubel Hossain.

India: Virat Kohli (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Ajinkya Rahane, Dinesh Karthik, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Varun Aaron.

Umpires: Billy Bowden (NZL) and Nigel Llong (ENG)

TV umpire: Raveendra Wimalasiri (SRI)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn