Updated: Monday, 19 May 2014 19:48 | By Agence France-Presse

Matfield, Burger back for Springboks training

Veteran forwards Victor Matfield and Schalk Burger were included in a 36-man Springbok training squad Monday ahead of four June international matches.

Matfield, Burger back for Springboks training

A file picture taken on October 3, 2011 shows Victor Matfield, who has been included in the Springbok squad ahead of a series of Test matches against Wales and Scotland - by Stephane de Sakutin

Lock Matfield, 37, ended a two-year retirement this season and has impressed for Northern Bulls in the Super 15 championship.

After injuries and a serious illness sidelined Western Stormers flanker Burger, 31, for almost two years, he has been back to his best lately.

"It is great to welcome them back into the Springboks fold," national coach Heyneke Meyer said in a statement.

"I know both of them can still add a lot of value to the team with the 2015 Rugby World Cup looming."

Young Stormers lock Eben Etzebeth, who has missed the 2014 Super 15 season through injury, was chosen.

A surprise inclusion is Central Cheetahs flanker Heinrich Brussow as he has been out in the cold since Meyer took over two seasons ago.

The coach believed Brussow conceded too many penalties and preferred England-based Francois Louw as a 'fetcher'.

There are eight uncapped players among the group that will hold a three-day camp from Sunday in Indian Ocean city Durban.

Backs who have not worn the green and gold include wings Damian de Allende and Cornal Hendricks, centre S'bura Sithole and fly-half Marnitz Boshoff.

Prop Marcel van der Merwe, lock Lood de Jager and flankers Teboho 'Oupa' Mohoje and Jacques du Plessis are the uncapped forwards.

South Africa play an exhibition match against a World XV in Cape Town on June 7, Wales on June 14 in Durban and on June 21 in Nelspruit, and Scotland on June 28 in Port Elizabeth.


Forwards: Tendai Mtawarira, Trevor Nyakane, Marcel van der Merwe, Jannie du Plessis, Frans Malherbe, Coenie Oosthuizen, Bismarck du Plessis, Adriaan Strauss, Eben Etzebeth, Lood de Jager, Victor Matfield, Flip van der Merwe, Heinrich Brussow, Marcell Coetzee, Siya Kolisi, Willem Alberts, Jacques du Plessis, Teboho Mohoje, Duane Vermeulen, Schalk Burger

Backs: Fourie du Preez, Francois Hougaard, Johan Goosen, Marnitz Boshoff, Jean de Villiers, Damian de Allende, Jan Serfontein, Juan de Jongh, JJ Engelbrecht, S'bura Sithole, Francois Steyn, Lwazi Mvovo, Bjorn Basson, JP Pietersen, Cornal Hendricks, Willie le Roux

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn