Updated: Thursday, 19 December 2013 05:36 | By Agence France-Presse

New Zealand bowl first against West Indies

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bowl first in the third and final Test against the West Indies in Hamilton on Thursday.

New Zealand bowl first against West Indies

Brendon McCullum of New Zealand bats during day one of the second international cricket Test match between New Zealand and the West Indies at the Basin Reserve in Wellington on December 11, 2013

Captain Brendon McCullum said he was banking on history which shows the Seddon Park wicket can be fruitful for the bowlers early in a match.

"If we get the ball on a length as we have done so far in the series we will give ourselves some opportunities," he said.

The West Indies, already without the suspended Shane Shillingford who has been replaced by Sunil Narine, suffered a late blow when first Test double-centurion Darren Bravo was injured during net practice on Wednesday and will not play.

Kraigg Brathwaite comes in for Bravo with Veerasammy Permaul replacing Shannon Gabriel.

New Zealand lead the series 1-0 after winning the second Test in Wellington last week by an innings and 73 runs.


New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Peter Fulton, Hamish Rutherford, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Kane Williamson.

West Indies: Darren Sammy (captain), Kieran Powell, Kraigg Brathwaite, Kirk Edwards, Marlon Samuels, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Denesh Ramdin, Sunil Narine, Tino Best, Veerasammy Permaul.

Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG), Paul Reiffel (AUS)

TV umpire: Nigel Llong (ENG)

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn