Updated: Wednesday, 08 January 2014 01:40 | By Agence France-Presse

Ovechkin, Malkin and Datsyuk to lead Russia in Sochi

NHL forward trio Evgeni Malkin, Alexander Ovechkin and Pavel Datsyuk will spearhead Russia's ice hockey team at next month's Olympic Games in Sochi.

Ovechkin, Malkin and Datsyuk to lead Russia in Sochi

Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins skates with the puck against the Washington Capitals during the second period at Verizon Center on November 20, 2013 in Washington, DC

On Tuesday, the Russian Ice Hockey Federation announced the 25-man country's squad to play at the Olympics in Russia's southern resort city.

The squad was formed of 15 players from the clubs of the North-American National Hockey League and 10 players from the Russian-based Continental Hockey League (KHL).

Russia, who have failed to win the hockey gold medal since the fall of the Soviet Union in 1991, will try to grab their first ever gold on home ice in February,

The team, who last won the Olympic title at the 1992 Albertville Games, when they played under the banner of the Community of Independent States (CIS), were not considered as Russia's national team as they played under the IOC flag.


Goalkeepers: Semen Varlamov (Colorado Avalanche/NHL), Sergei Bobrovsky (Columbus Blue Jackets/NHL), Alexander Yeremenko (Dynamo Moscow/KHL)

Defenders: Andrei Markov, Alexei Yemelin (both Montreal Canadiens/NHL), Vyacheslav Voinov (Los Angeles Kings,NHL), Fedor Tyutin, Nikita Nikitin (both Columbus Blue Jackets/NHL), Anton Belov (Edmonton Oilers/NHL), Ilya Nikulin, Yevgeny Medvedev (both Ak Bars Kazan/KHL)

Forwards: Evgeni Malkin (Pittsburgh Penguins/NHL), Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit Red Wings/NHL), Alexander Ovechkin (Washington Capitals/NHL), Alexander Radulov (CSKA Moscow/KHL), Ilya Kovalchuk, Viktor Tikhonov (both SKA Saint Petersburg/KHL), Artem Anisimov (Columbus Blue Jackets/NHL), Alexei Tereshchenko (Ak Bars Kazan/KHL), Nikolai Kulemin (Toronto Maple Leafs/NHL), Vladimir Tarasenko (St Louis Blues/NHL), Valery Nichushkin (Dallas Stars/NHL), Alexander Popov (Avantguard Omsk/KHL), Denis Kokarev, Sergei Soin (both Dynamo Moscow/KHL)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn