Updated: Wednesday, 27 August 2014 17:27 | By Agence France-Presse

South Africa win toss, elect to bowl, against Australia

South Africa won the toss and elected to bowl against Australia in the second match of a triangular series in Harare on Wednesday.

South Africa win toss, elect to bowl, against Australia

Australia batsman Phil Hughes is in action during the match between Australia and South Africa in the one day international tri-series which includes Zimbabwe at the Harare Sports Club, on August 27, 2014 - by Jekesai Njikizana

South Africa confirmed that Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel were all back.

Rilee Rossouw, Aaron Phangiso, Marchant de Lange and Mthokozisi Shezi were the players who dropped out of the side that beat Zimbabwe by seven wickets last Thursday.

For Australia, batsman Phillip Hughes was given a chance to batter South Africa again.

Hughes scored an unbeaten double hundred in a one-day game against South Africa A last month and then replicated the feat in a four-day game against the same opposition two weeks ago.

The 25-year-old was only included in Australia’s squad for the tri-series, which also involves hosts Zimbabwe, when Shane Watson was ruled out through injury.

However Hughes received his opportunity on the international stage as Australia left out off spinner Nathan Lyon and fielded an all-pace attack on a pitch that had more grass than the one on which Australia thumped Zimbabwe by 198 runs on Monday.


South Africa: Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (capt), JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir.

Australia: Aaron Finch, Phillip Hughes, Mitchell Marsh, George Bailey (capt), Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Brad Haddin, James Faulkner, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson.

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn