Updated: Tuesday, 02 September 2014 15:49 | By Agence France-Presse

South Africa win toss, elect to bowl against Australia

AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bowl as he returned to captain South Africa against Australia in a key triangular series clash on Tuesday.

South Africa win toss, elect to bowl against Australia

South Africa cricket captain AB de Villiers during a training session ahead of a Test match in Harare on August 7, 2014 - by Jekesai Njikizana

De Villiers had missed South Africa's victory over Zimbabwe on Friday through illness, but came back into the Proteas side along with Morne Morkel, as Rilee Rossouw and Kyle Abbott dropped out.

After their shock defeat to Zimbabwe on Sunday, Australia must win the match or else they risk losing out on the final.

Captain Michael Clarke flew home on Monday to receive treatment on his hamstring injury, so George Bailey took the reins once more and Steve Smith returned to the side.captain

Mitchell Johnson and Kane Richardson were also recalled, as Ben Cutting and James Faulkner dropped out.


Australia: Aaron Finch, Phillip Hughes, Steve Smith, George Bailey (capt), Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Brad Haddin (wk), Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Nathan Lyon.

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (capt), David Miller, JP Duminy, Ryan McLaren, Dale Steyn, Aaron Phangiso, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel.

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn