Updated: Tuesday, 26 August 2014 17:41 | By Agence France-Presse

Sri Lanka bat against Pakistan in second ODI

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to bat in the rescheduled second one-day international against Pakistan in Hambantota on Tuesday.

Sri Lanka bat against Pakistan in second ODI

Pakistan bowler Junaid Khan (R) celebrates after dismissing Sri Lanka's Tillakaratne Dilshan during the second one-day international in the southern district of Hambantota on August 26, 2014 - by Lakruwan Wanniarachchi

The tourists, who won the opening one-dayer at the same venue on Saturday, will look to clinch the three-match series despite the absence of two star players, Saeed Ajmal and Younis Khan.

Off-spinner Saeed Ajmal is yet to return from Australia where he underwent tests on his bowling action after being reported by the umpires during the preceding Test series, which Sri Lanka won 2-0.

Top-order batsman Younis has returned home following a death in the family and was replaced by Sharjeel Khan.

Sri Lanka made one change for a game they must win to keep the series alive, dropping batsman Dinesh Chandimal to play leg-spinner Seekkuge Prasanna.

The match was originally slated to be played in Colombo on Wednesday, but heavy rains in the Sri Lankan capital forced officials to change the venue and advance the game by a day.

The third and final one-dayer will be held in Dambulla on Saturday.

Pakistan: Misbah-ul Haq (capt), Sharjeel Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Junaid Khan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Ashan Priyanjan, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Seekuge Prasanna.

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS) and Ranmore Martinesz (SRI)

TV umpire: S. Ravi (IND)

Match referee: Andy Pycroft (ZIM)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn