Updated: Thursday, 16 January 2014 14:28 | By Agence France-Presse

Sri Lanka bat in third Pakistan Test

Sri Lankan captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and opted to bat in the third and final Test against Pakistan in Sharjah on Thursday.

Sri Lanka bat in third Pakistan Test

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews pictured during a practice session in Sharjah on January 14, 2014

Sri Lanka, who lead the series 1-0 on account of their nine wicket win in the second Test in Dubai, brought in spinner Dilruwan Perera in place of paceman Nuwan Pradeep.

The 31-year-old Perera has played four one-day internationals and three Twenty20 but is making his Test debut.

The first Test ended in a draw in Abu Dhabi.

Pakistan finally brought in a second spinner in Abdul Rehman for injured Bilawal Bhatti while paceman Mohammad Talha replaced Rahat Ali and batsman Azhar Ali came in for Mohammad Hafeez.

The 25-year-old Talha played the only Test in Lahore in 2009 which ended abruptly after Sri Lankan team was attacked by terrorists, an assault which suspended all international cricket in Pakistan.


Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (capt), Azhar Ali, Ahmed Shehzad, Khurram Manzoor, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Sarfraz Ahmed, Junaid Khan, Saeed Ajmal, Abdul Rehman, Mohammad Talha.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (capt), Dinesh Chandimal, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Kaushal Silva, Dimuth Karunaratne, Prasanna Jayawardene, Suranga Lakmal, Shaminda Eranga, Rangana Herath, Dilruwan Perera.

Umpires: Richard Kettleborough (ENG) and Sundaram Ravi(IND)

Tv umpire: Bruce Oxenford (AUS)

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn