Updated: Thursday, 22 May 2014 20:27 | By Agence France-Presse

Sri Lanka field against England

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and elected to field in the first one-day international against England at The Oval on Thursday.

Sri Lanka field against England

Sri Lanka one-day squad captain Angelo Mathews addresses the media at the Oval cricket ground in London, on May 21, 2014 - by Leon Neal

England made three changes to the side that lost by nine runs to World Twenty20 champions Sri Lanka in Tuesday's lone Twenty20 at The Oval for the day/night clash, the first of this five-match series.

England captain Alastair Cook, who does not play in Twenty20 internationals, returned to open alongside Ian Bell.

Michael Carberry was left out, with fellow Twenty20 opener Alex Hales not included in England's one-day squad.

Yorkshire batsman Gary Ballance was named at number three for the first time by England as Mathews elected to field first in overcast conditions.

Meanwhile experienced paceman James Anderson was recalled in place of Chris Woakes, with fellow seamer Tim Bresnan also omitted from England's 14-man squad.

Sri Lanka welcomed back senior batsmen Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jawayardene, who both retired from Twenty20 internationals following Sri Lanka's global success in Bangladesh in April.


England: Alastair Cook (capt), Ian Bell, Gary Ballance, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Ravi Bopara, Jos Buttler (wkt), Chris Jordan, James Tredwell, James Anderson, Harry Gurney

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara (wkt), Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews (capt), Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Sachithra Senanayake, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga

Umpires: Rob Bailey (ENG) and Chris Gaffaney (NZL)

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus (RSA)

Match referee: Jeff Crowe (NZL)

Latest Photo Galleries on xinmsn