Champions again: How Germany won their fourth World Cup

IES | Matthias Schrader/AP Photo
1 of 9 To full screen

Reliving Germany's path to success in Brazil

The path to glory for Germany in Brazil. See Gallery

Germany are world champions again after defeating Argentina 1-0 in extra-time of the final of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil at the Maracanã. Click or swipe through the images above to relive Germany’s road to glory.  

Natacha Pisarenko/AP Photo
2 of 9 To full screen

Group G: Germany 4 – 0 Portugal

Germany got their World Cup campaign off to the best possible start with a 4-0 defeat of an underwhelming Portugal team. Mats Hummels scored but Thomas Müller was the star, scoring the 2014 World Cup's first hat-trick; he was heavily involved in an altercation that resulted in a first-half red card for Pepe.

Eddie Keogh/Reuters
3 of 9 To full screen

Group G: Germany 2 – 2 Ghana

Striker Miroslav Klose equalled Ronaldo's World Cup record goal tally of 15 with the equalising goal in a 2-2 draw with Ghana. Germany had taken the lead against the Black Stars through Mario Götze, before goals from André Ayew and Asamoah Gyan turned the game on its head. Klose, playing at his fourth World Cup, pounced on Benedikt Höwedes' flick-on to seal a point.

Alex Livesey - FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images
4 of 9 To full screen

Group G: Germany 1 – 0 United States

With qualification virtually sealed, Germany played out a drab 1-0 win over the United States in their final group game. Thomas Müller scored his fourth goal of the tournament to claim victory for Germany in a rain-soaked Arena Pernambuco in Recife.

Kirsty Wigglesworth/AP Photo
5 of 9 To full screen

Round of 16: Germany 2 – 1 Algeria (aet)

Joachim Löw's team were pushed to the limit by an impressive Algeria team, who were out for revenge for their exit from the 1982 World Cup caused indirectly by Germany. After the game moved into extra-time, André Schürrle and Mesut Özil struck to give Germany victory, though not before Abdelmoumene Djabou pulled one back to ensure a tense finale.

Matthias Hangst/Getty Images
6 of 9 To full screen

Quarter-final: Germany 1 – 0 France

Germany grabbed their place in the last four with a 1-0 defeat of a disappointing France team, thanks to Mats Hummels' powerful first-half header, his second goal of the tournament.

Michael Steele/Getty Images
7 of 9 To full screen

Semi-final: Germany 7 – 1 Brazil

Germany booked their first World Cup final place since 2002, with a rampant 7-1 defeat of Brazil in Belo Horizonte, firing seven past the beleaguered hosts - a haul that included four in six first-half minutes.

André Schürrle and Toni Kroos both scored doubles, which were added to by Thomas Müller, Sami Khedira, and Miroslav Klose – who moved to the top of the all-time World Cup goalscorers list.

8 of 9 To full screen

Final: Germany 1 – 0 Argentina

In a tense and open final, Germany were pushed all the way by Argentina. Gonzalo Higuaín dragged an early shot wide after going through one-on-one, before having a goal ruled out for offside. Benedikt Höwedes responded by striking the post for Germany with a header just before half-time, before Lionel Messi pulled another great chance wide in the second period.

9 of 9 To full screen

Final: Germany 1 – 0 Argentina

With the game in extra-time, penalties appeared increasingly likely, only for Mario Götze’s superb chest-and-volley in the 113th minute to win the game for Germany. It was the 22-year-old's second goal of the tournament, and one that will live long in the memory of German fans.